2005年,在去中国旅游遇见我们的女儿之前,我为她创作了一首摇篮曲。一个中国友人 (Li Fei 李菲)中国友人李菲将它翻译成中文,教我和我的夫人中文发音,我们一起用加泰罗尼亚语和中文录制了这首歌曲。

我们想让她在孤儿院时就能听歌,以此来熟悉我们的声音,这样当她面对困难时就能通过歌曲消除她的不安。

2008年,我联系到Luo Tong 罗彤 (上海), 她是纪录片执行制片人,作品“告别曲” 展示了为许多专门演奏中国传统乐器的优秀音乐家的告别演奏会所做的筹备工作。

我希望有朝一日能够亲耳聆听中国传统乐器演奏这首摇篮曲,这是我在领养途中直到后来看到纪录片以来的愿望,罗彤 向纪录片制作方传达了这个想法,羅守誠 (一位中国竹子制乐器“笛子”、“箫”的演奏者)对此表示热烈欢迎。

与此同时, 多亏了与独立影音项目的合作, 跨文化因素激发着我的作曲灵感。尽管起先看起来就像一个乌托邦:制作我自己的专辑,这意味着成为跨文化的桥梁,加强女儿与她出生地的联系,作为她的父亲我很乐意将这种爱作为宝贵的财产传递给她。之后它初具规模。

这张专辑饱含对音乐的爱,它在人和文化之间建立联系,而这正是移民流的结果。它体现出存在于我音乐风格中的文化交织;它珍视文化异同。它受益于那些传统元素(以传统乐器为象征),能顺应现代音乐,但也反映出传统必须经历转型以便摆脱大男子主义、种族主义、排外心里(就措辞和其他特色而言,可以反映出这种趋势,歌曲并不总是传统的或者“本地”,有时候也会使用非正统的传统乐器)。

之后, 羅守誠决定帮助我,因而我有幸将所有梦之队的艺术家召集起来, 他们相继加入了这个美妙的项目

水彩画,Mònica Espinosa

In 2005, before travelling to China to meet out daughter, I composed a lullaby for her. A Chinese friend (Li Fei 李菲) translated it and helped my wife and I with the pronunciation and we recorded it both in Catalan and Chinese.

Our intention was that by listening to the song in the orphanage, she could get used to our voices and thus, when she faced painful moments, the song could serve us as one more tool to mitigate her anxiety.

In 2008, I got in contact with Luo Tong 罗彤 (Shanghai), the executive producer of the valuable documentary “A farewell song” which shows the preparations for the farewell concert of different brilliant musicians specialised in Chinese traditional instruments.

My intention was that someday I could be able to listen to this lullaby performed with Chinese traditional instruments as it was something I had been longing for since in the middle of the adoption trip I came across the documentary. Luo Tong presented them the idea and Luo Shoucheng 羅守誠 (a great player of “dizi” and “xiao”, two Chinese bamboo flutes) embraced the idea enthusiastically.

In parallel, thanks to my connection to independent audiovisual projects, I had worked on compositions infused with cross-cultural influences. And then it started to take shape what at first had seemed to be a utopia: to produce my own album which meant to be a bridge across cultures, to bolster up my daughter’s love for her origins and to serve me as a sort of legacy of values I would like to transmit to her as her father. 
It is an album which, through its love to music, encapsulates the relations established among people and cultures as a result of migration flows. It extols the cultural interweaving present in my musical style; it values the cultural differences and similarities; it benefits from those traditional elements (symbolised by the traditional instruments) which could be adapted to the present times but it also reflects the transformation that tradition must undergo in order to break away from scourge of machismo, racism, xenophobia (this adaptation is reflected through songs which are not always traditional and/or “local” and through the sometimes unorthodox use of traditional instruments as far as phrasing or other particular features are concerned).

Then, once Luo Shoucheng 羅守誠 decided to help me, I had the chance to gather all the artists of this wonderful dream team who, one by one, joined the project.

Watercolors by Mònica Espinosa